Amanda Fucking Palmer @ Heaven

Last night was incredible. This tweet pretty much sums up the epic scale of the concert.

[blackbirdpie url=”https://twitter.com/#!/amandapalmer/status/109961935570739200″%5D

 

The Jane Austen Argument, who I had met the night before, opened the show with 3 songs. I was nearish to the stage on stage left and some people were nice enough to let me stand in front of them after a bouncer glared at me for using the stairs to shimmy myself up the wall a little to have a chance at a decent photo. Like last night, SLF, the roommate, had let me borrow her camera, except tonight I had her 50mm 1.8. It’s almost identical to my setup back home (except I have the 50mm 1.4). Even though it’s been a while since I had a DSLR in my hands it didn’t take more than a couple minutes to get back into the swing of taken live performance photos. Someday I’ll figure out a way to get a press pass to a concert so I don’t have to deal with random people standing in my way.

IMG_9645
Amanda Palmer @ Heaven

It was lovely to hear the JAA again, and in a properly lit, warm venue! It was only just the tiniest bit cold Thursday night. After the finished their all-to-short set, I went out to the merch table to say hello. They remembered me from the night before and realised it was me that wrote the blog post. Which they had both read and thanked me for! Suffice it to say, if they come through Oregon (or wherever you are) check them out, they’re talented and really nice too.

Next up was Bitter Ruin, I missed about half of their short set because I was chatting with the JAA. Then S and I (who I had dragged to the concert even though it totally wasn’t her scene – she did have fun though!) spent the second half edging our way back into the insanely crowded dance floor. I wanted to be up front, I only had the 50mm lens with me, so going back and trying to edge our way to the front of the balconies would have been pointless. Up front though, there wasn’t an inch of space between people. So every time someone shifted or left I shimmied forward into the spot, and once or twice I just pushed through. Sorry guys, but I had been up front with a good view, I paid my dues by getting there early. I wanted my spot. And I’m so glad I got it. I could see the stage! Which never happens because I’m short, and I could get some unobstructed photos, except for the mic stand that no matter how many times they moved it was almost always in my way. Not that I’m complaining. I was within 5 feet of the stage, so close I’m surprised I can still hear today and that my ears aren’t ringing. Though perhaps my years of running events has killed those particular decibel levels already.

IMG_9305
Una Palliner, violinist

Amanda took the stage, opening with Astronaut, then followed with Girl Anachronism, two of my favorite songs of hers. From the beginning the show was high energy, even though much of her released music is not dance-y and is often balladic. Throughout the night we were treated to numerous guest appearances – Super Kate belly danced and led us in some calisthenics (the AFP fans aren’t accustomed to proper dancing at concerts, we must warm up) Una Palliner on violin, she took a break from her tour with Shakira to play with Amanda Palmer, Neil Gaiman even came out to sing The Problem With Saints, both The Jane Austen Argument and Bitter Ruin came out for another song performed with Amanda, then two very special guests, Tim Minchin and Tom Robinson. The night ended with the entire group on stage as Amanda absolutely killed Leeds United. It was a proper mass of awesomeness and dance party on the stage. I think it ended with less than 5 minutes to curfew.

IMG_9400
Neil Gaiman! singing The Problem With Saints

Over the years I haven’t been to that many concerts, but this is the most fun I’ve ever had at one. There wasn’t a moment that lagged, the only time I thought about checking the time was when I wanted to know that we still had a long time until the show would end because I did not want it to end. I love Palmer’s music, her style and general attitude. She’s a performer through to the end, there to connect and entertain. I think she brings out the best in the people around her through her very nature because she has fun. And if you allow it to, it picks you up and takes you on a ride. You laugh and cry and dance and sing all at once. You’re soaring on a high that only comes from enjoying the hell out of what you’re doing and who you’re with – even if you don’t know who they are. However many hundred people were in that room, there was a connection. And it was wonderful. Oh, and thank you random boy who shared the water he’d just been handed by the security guard with me; it was a bloody hot mess in there.

You can see more photos from last night that I took over here on Flickr.

Author: Monica

punk rock ballerina. writer. adventurer.

5 thoughts on “Amanda Fucking Palmer @ Heaven”

  1. Unlike you, I’ve been to countless concerts and this was the fifth time I’ve seen AFP but the Heaven gig immediately jumped into my top 10 of all time. It’s really worth seeing her several times because she’ll always think of something different to do.

    I really like your shots and well done for getting to the front. I didn’t bring my camera because I knew I wouldn’t be there early enough to grab a good spot and being down with a cold didn’t help.

    I did bring those shiny pink shorts, though and despite being up on the small balcony, they made their way to the stage when I threw them down. I still can’t believe AFP actually wore them. :D

    1. It’s definitely a plan of mine to see her in concert again. I’m moving back to the States at the end of the month and she happens to be touring through a nearby town a month after that so my friend and I are waiting to jump on the chance to get tickets for the show.

      That’s totally awesome that AFP wore something you threw down. The moment they reached her was hilarious – I knew someone was going to end up wearing them on stage, just wasn’t sure who.

      and thanks, I’m glad you like the shots. It’s been a while since I got to shoot any low light performances and the first concert that I’ve shot. I was worried that I was going to get home with absolutely nothing to show.

Leave a Reply

