The Idea Book

A friend once told me that my color was collage, that collages and scrapbooking and quilted patches reminded her of me. I have to say, not having a consistently favorite color that assessment isn’t far off.

In February 2009 I decided to start an idea book, a thing I had fiddled with in college as an advertising student. It was valuable, but it never felt right. I hate to admit it but I’ve never finished an idea book, and most have been turned into compost by now. I let myself let go of this one go a little, forgiving things I thought were “mistakes”. I’m a perfectionist and not having something come out exactly how I saw it in my head is hard. I can’t say I love every page, but I love everything that I put in. These are some of my favorite pages. Now, nearly September 2011 I’ve almost finished – only 10 pages left. I’ll finish it up and start the new one on my 25th birthday.

You can look at the pages by scrolling down or clicking here for the full page flickr slideshow

old & new
old & new
when I started
1st entry
dance
dance
inspiration
inspiration
design
there isn’t a problem in the world a great designer can not solve
universe
space
values
things found
smile
smile
restart
fail better
disruption
a force for disruption
travel
travel
London
london
dance!
dance
why I dance
why I dance
life
life
enough
what is enough

copenhagen <3

life lessons
life lessons
wise words
wise words
dissertation!
dissertation!
Author: Monica

punk rock ballerina. writer. adventurer.

2 thoughts on “The Idea Book”

  1. I don’t know how many of these I have around…. fits and starts. Maybe I should start one and just keep plodding along….

    hummm…..

    Especially the quotes… I do cut out loads of quotes AND pertinent comics.

    a

    1. do it!
      Every so often when I get busy I just end up throwing bits and pieces in a bag and gluing them in later. But I’ve been pretty on top of it recently… maybe because I’m excited to start my new shiny moleskin. :)

Leave a Reply

