Inis Mór

Today I laid on a cliff and peered over the edge
into the Atlantic.
I was buffeted by winds as I rode along the edge of an island.
I rode a bike around an island.
I licked sea salt spray from my lips
and I think I got a tan even though
the sun was mostly hidden.
I stood barefooted on a cliff
and balanced on one leg,
because I’m a dancer and
I guess it’s what we do.
I scrambled over grey rock
and found tiny fish in unlikely tide pools.
My muscles ache in a delicious sort of way,
and I’m realizing what I think I will make happen
isn’t always what happens,
and really, I like it better this way.

Author: Monica

punk rock ballerina. writer. adventurer.

2 thoughts on “Inis Mór”

Leave a Reply

