Epic birthday accomplished

post show, minutes before midnight, the end of an epic birthday

The concert was amazing, I was first row and just left of center for the entire night (pictures soon). I kept running into new friends from the house parties and from twitter. Everyone was so excited and lovely. I hit the signing line and handed her my shirt to sign, she’s halfway through the massive queue and hasn’t looked up yet, but when she does she lights up, reaches across the table and grabs me in a hug thanking me for the letter I had given her the previous night and asking if I had a good time, a good birthday and saying she was glad her friend Mali and I got to hang out all afternoon. I ask for a photo but say I can stick around, so I spend the next bit talking with all my new Aussie friends, who knew I’d ever have a reason to come back to Brisbane :)

After the line died down I went over to Amanda for one last chat and a photo. Several hugs, thank yous and apparently what was ‘an adorable moment’ according to my friend Ellen later I walked out into the balmy night air. I don’t think I could have managed a better birthday if I’d planned any of this.

Author: Monica

punk rock ballerina. writer. adventurer.

2 thoughts on “Epic birthday accomplished”

  1. I have all the feels when I look at this photo. We now share memories from a wonderful evening. I’m so very pleased I was able to help capture this moment with you and Amanda. xoxo.

    1. <3 You and me both dear. I'm so happy that I got to meet you and that it was you that took the picture. It was such an amazing evening, and I'm glad that you were a part of it for me.

Leave a Reply

